Cantina del Taburno

Cantina del Taburno, located on the slopes of Mount Taburno, belongs to the "Consorzio Agrario di Benevento" (Agricultural Consortium of Benevento). The Consortium was established in 1901 and played a crucial role in the development of agriculture in the Sannio area. The winery was built in 1972 in Foglianise. It's a point of reference for viticulture due to its philosophy and for its positive impact on the economy of the area.

The grapes vinified at Cantina del Taburno are grown in vineyards (of an extension of approximately 600 hectares) in the towns standing on the slopes of Mount Taburno: Foglianise, Torrecuso, Vitulano, Campoli del Monte Taburno, Castelpoto, Apollosa, Bonea, Montesarchio, Ponte, Tocco Caudio, Paupisi and Benevento. The ecosystem of vines in this area is quite unique due to the type and exposure of the soils: to the particular kind of climate, grape varietals and agricultural practices. The hills with clay and calcareous marl soils, the mild winters with regular rainfall between October and March, the dry and warms summers all concur to create extremely favourable conditions for high quality viticulture.


Aglianico del Sannio (also called Aglianico di Torrecuso) is the main grape varietal of Taburno. They're considered indigenous because the vines are more than a century old and have been widely distributed in the area. Other autochthonous red varietals, such as Piedirosso and Sciascinoso are present, but Falanghina is the main white varietal. During the last twenty years, work at Cantina del Taburno has focused on the quality improvement of wine made from Falanghina. Attention has also been paid to other three white varietals: Coda di Volpe, Greco and Fiano.

At present, the grapes grown by 300 associates (owners or managers of vineyards located in the Taburno DOC) are vinified at the winery. Great efforts are made to achieve the best conditions for the highest quality expression of these historical varietals.